I Generally Hate the Communities I Am/Have Been a Part Of

Posted: May 7, 2014 in Gaming, Music, Personal
Tags: , , , ,

So, after talking to my girlfriend about how aggravating it is to see a bunch of gamers who claim to love a game spend HOOOOOOURS talking about how horrible it and the creators of it are, I realized something about myself: I don’t think I very much like gamers. After further thought, I came to realize I generally don’t like “fans” of most things.

When I say “fan”, I don’t mean the sane ones (which is an odd term to use when talking about fanatics) that peacefully purchase, enjoy, support and reasonably offer constructive criticisms about the game/team/music they pay for. I’m talking about those clowns who have far too much time on their hands. The ones that go to the forums of Warframe and rant about how the PS4 doesn’t get updates as fast as the PC and they refuse to play the game anymore because of it. The ones that type paragraph after bashing paragraph on YouTube because they didn’t like someone’s song or video. Those less than spectacular examples of humanity that, despite an entertainer or athlete’s best efforts, will mercilessly boo and heckle them as if they could do better. These cretins make it hard for everyone else. When I say I’m a gamer, people expect me to be the kind of guy who locks himself in a basement, play games hours on end with no desire to see the sun and verbally attack the world from the safety of an anonymous screen name. I am NOT that guy. I am socially adept, I’ve never had a basement and I have absolutely no problems with showing my face when speaking my mind (hence my pictures all over this blog). Unlike the general stereotypes that are becoming synonymous with fandom, I understand that my teams will not and cannot always win. I know what a rebuilding period means. I understand that technology is ever changing and glitches in games still exist. Every aspect of every game is not going to be perfect, but I see the effort that is there and i appreciate it. I don’t know C++ and I have no intentions on learning. I feel I’m a fairly good writer though, so if I had such a huge problem with storylines in games today, it would behoove me to not bitch about it on a forum and go write a better story. I can’t shoot for shit in basketball, so when Joe Johnson misses a 3, I may be upset because I know he can do it, but I’m not going to vilify that man if the effort is there.

On the other hand, if you see someone half assing it, give it to ’em. Let them know that as a fan, you believe they are capable of more and that’s why you chose to support them in the first place. Remind them of that grand season they had or that game they made or that song they wrote that made you fall in love to begin with. Death threats are not the answer here. The only person who has ever responded positively to that is Hideo Kojima (it’s how we got Metal Gear Solid 3 if you didn’t know) and that’s just an exception to the rule. Kicking these gaming studios, sports teams, entertainers, artists when they’re down only convinces them more that there is no reason to return and they have no reason to continue. They may fight through it and come back stronger, but it would be a hell of a lot easier to do if millions of people were not reminding them every second that they hate them for some mistake that is minute in the grand scheme of things.

The bottom line is: don’t be a dick. If you don’t like how something is changing or evolving, kindly voice your opinion. If it continues to go south, jump ship. Yeah, it sucks to lose out on your favorite gaming franchise because they refuse to just give you THE DAMN REMAKE YOU’VE BEEN ASKING FOR INSTEAD OF ANOTHER GODDAMN LIGHTNING GAME…but there’s more than enough in life for you to fill your plate with. Try a different genre, check out another developer and see what they’re making. If you’re team keeps losing, either suck it up and be a REAL fan or jump ship. Sure you’ll be clowned for it by any friends you have that are into sports, but hey, as long as it gets you to stop bugging the shit out of players on twitter, who cares? If you don’t like the direction an artist is going in musically, kindly voice your opinion. You don’t know what’s going on in that man/woman’s life that made them decide to go this way. Maybe their new music just isn’t for you. Just because “I’ll Be In The Sky” and “Airplanes” are completely different from “Ray-bans” doesn’t mean you should bash that artist. You can simply enjoy what you like and skip what you don’t. If more people exercised their power of consume instead of their power of free speech, I think we’d all be surprised how quickly things would change. But hey, what the hell do I know?

Leave a Reply

