(Wo)Man Up

Posted: July 23, 2015 in Personal
Tags: , , , ,

I grew up in Roosevelt, Long Island, NY (yep, did like the shit was in Canada…shoot me). I was a black kid, in the hood, who liked Linkin Park and anime. I wore Dragon Ball Z shirts. Not just Ts either. I had fuckin Hawaiian style DBZ button up shirts. Needless to say, people had opinions on my attire. Black kids around the way, white kids when I was in private school, those same black kids again in high school, hell even teachers looked at me funny. Did any of that stop me? Hell no. As you can see from the feature image, I give zero fucks about what I should wear to look “cool”. I wear what I want, when I want, where I want, style be damned.

Were those people wrong to say something about it though? I don’t think so. I stood out and I knew I did. Actually, some of the decisions I made were specifically about standing out. It’s human nature to question what you don’t understand or even to mock it. Should those people be admonished for their jokes or odd looks? Again, I don’t think so. They were never physically abusive of me due to what I was wearing, so let em talk. To me, that type of thing is a test. Are you really about that life, or are you gonna fold under pressure.

Do I think Caitlyn Jenner is a hero? Nope, not at all. She is someone who felt like this is something she had to do to be happy and did it. There are no awards for that (or at least there aren’t suppose to be). She doesn’t need a million and one people jumping to his defense. It was her choice. It seems we live in a society where you can’t speak on someone’s choices without being a hater in some way, shape, or form.

Bottom line, you wanna have green hair? Go for it. You wanna be a man/woman? Do the damn thing. You wanna get plastic surgery til you look like a damn Barbie doll? Rock out. Be prepared though. Know that you live in a very socially connected world and people are going to have shit to say. If you can’t take it, then maybe it’s not for you. As for me, Imma take my Pikachu shirt to a bar tonight, flash my ID out of my Spider-man wallet, and when someone asks me about my Sound Village wristband from Naruto, I will proudly tell them the story of my people.

Leave a Reply

