Neva Loved Us

Posted: December 2, 2015 in Music, Personal
Tags: , , ,

I spent a lot of time watching the Voice with my mom over the last month or so. It was really cool seeing these artists grow and learn from people like Pharell and Adam Levine, artists I actually look up to and enjoy myself. They would have amazing performances accompanied by live bands, Carson Daly would stand with them as people showered them with applause, and their songs would be posted to iTunes for immediate purchase. I watched careers flourish right in front of my eyes. It made me think about American Idol, Ink Master, Shark Tank (to a lesser extent), America’s Next Top Model, Top Chef, Project Runway, Face Off, and literally every other show that serves as a launch pad for breaking through the glass ceiling between being good at something and no one knowing and having the nation know it…and then I thought…what about me?

The closest things to ANY of this the hip-hop culture has known in recent memory are Master of the Mix and Making the Band. Yeah…not much to go on there. The bottom line is, there just isn’t love for hip-hop. We are a marketable entity for violence, misogyny, and poor financial decisions, but only at the highest levels. Only after you have brainwashed enough people with enough garbage and a suit decides, “yes, he’ll corrupt his people quite well”, do you get access to the types of places every other genre takes for granted. I don’t make trap music. I don’t glorify violence (I talk about it because it exists, HUGE difference). I don’t objectify women. I tell stories, I talk about my point of view on the world, I talk about my life. I cannot PAY to do a video with FOUR people (myself, my brother, my uncle and a cameraman) in Allentown, PA. A couple years ago, Jadakiss and Fabolous performed up the block from where my uncle lives, but that place not only closed down, it was TORN down. They don’t love us.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not looking for a “get famous quick” route. To the contrary, I don’t care to be famous. I just want to make enough to support myself, my fiance and my mother and I’ll be just fine. What I want is to show this country that seems to LOVE the hip-hop culture so much what it really is. I want a panel of unbiased judges to have to hit a button to turn around for the next Nas. I want some type of filter. I want…I just want this genre to be seen as equal. Funny..it’s the same with being black in America these days…

Feature Image Credit: (e)scapeLife Photography

Leave a Reply

