The Fragile Memory

Posted: May 1, 2016 in Personal
Tags: , , ,

But when the memories are gone, where do you go?
Evidence of human selfishness, you live through me
When I can no longer remember your face
I’ll remember the pieces of you in me
When I forget your favorite color and food
I’ll know that phrases I say and the confidence I have are attributed to you
When I can’t remember that time or that day or that night
I’ll know that these tears come from knowing greatness was lost. More than the sum of parts of memories
It is within my selfishness as a human that you’ll survive when my mind betrays me
It is within my ego that I’ll look to see you within me and you’ll never be lost to me

Leave a Reply

