Petrified By Defeat

Posted: August 28, 2016 in Short Stories
Tags: , ,

The fear is crippling

The past is literally destroyed and the present is on fire

The future is dark. So much so it’s menacing

I’ve learned to breathe underwater along with my sorrows so they can’t be drowned. I just want to get higher. 

Not so obviously, I mean up my mountain to climb

But i keep falling deeper and deeper into these valleys. Every step up crumbles under my feet. 

And through it all, my greatest advisory is my mind

Constantly leaves me to believe my greatest option is 6 feet deep

DEFEAT. 

Leave a Reply

